Spectrum’s Person of the month: Nicholas Czerwinski

I am different and I am happy

By Nicholas Czerwinski

My passion in life is music, any music. Lately my life has changed a lot. As I am getting older, I appreciate more and more making new friends, although I do have a loving family and great caregivers.

In the past, it was challenging to make friends outside of the family nucleus but lately, now that I became part of the Spectrum family, this has changed.

With Tina and Martine, two of my caregivers, I started to go to Grandville Island Market on Saturdays and Sundays. There I have discovered a completely new world filled with music, children’s laughs, birds, and new friends. I love staying by the musicians who play all kind of unusual instruments and some of them even let me play them.

There is David from Germany and his Hurdy-Gurdy. This is a very exiting medieval instrument where the strings are attached to a wheel with a handle cranked by hand.

I am trying David’s instrument

There is Jim and his Chapman Stick, also a very unusual type of guitar.

I really like Jim’s Chapman Stick

I really like Drix and I could dance on his music for hours. And you know, I am a bit of a musician myself and write my own compositions for piano.

I love playing piano!

I am different and people get intimidated because they do not know what to say or do at first. They really get to like me when they pass the first step and we connect. I do hear them and can recognize all my friends’ voices, and love them all.

I am indeed different but I am happy!

I love dancing with the music!

About Judy Smith

I am the Office Manager at Spectrum Society. I work with our staff, supported individuals, their families, friends and everyone who comes to visit at the office. I also enjoy working on special projects with our Personal Support Network team, headed by Aaron Johannes, Director of Research, Training and Development. I have thoroughly enjoyed working with everyone over the past 11 years and look forward to many many more!
This entry was posted in community, creativity, Disability, families, family care, Innovative Practices, Networks, Person Of The Month, Personal Supports, self-advocacy, self-determination, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment